Portrait of interracial couple smiling with pleasure standing shoulder to shoulder

Mission Statement

"Our mission is to help our members and their families navigate the vast sea of financial offerings and help them chart a course to success."

Benefits of a Credit Union

Membership in Savannah Schools FCU is an ongoing benefit to employees and associates of participating companies or groups. As a full-service financial institution, the credit union:

  • Provides security for funds, with accounts insured up to $250,000 by the National Credit Union Administration, a U.S. government agency.
  • Offers a full line of free or discounted financial products and services.

Offers a full line of lending products, to help you obtain your financial goals.

  • Provides dependable, friendly, personalized service.
  • Provides printed materials for the introduction and promotion of services.
  • Offers convenience, with two branches and the shared branching system.

Surcharge-Free ATM services via the CU 24 network.

  • Extends membership privileges to family members.
  • Places members' interests first.

Contact the Credit Union for more information about Membership.


The Credit Union movement originated in Europe in the 1840s, migrated to Canada in the late 1800s, and finally came to the U.S. in 1909.  Credit Unions are based on unique core values, the cooperative principles that set us apart:

  • Members, not just customers - you're a member / owner

  • Democratic Control - one member, one vote

  • Service Makes the Difference - smaller is better

  • "Profits" Belong To The Members - used for the betterment of the entire membership

The Chatham County Teacher Association Credit Union received a state charter on March 17, 1954. After a federal charter was obtained, the name was changed to the Chatham County School Employees Federal Credit Union, and then again in 2003 to Savannah Schools Federal Credit Union under the impeccable Leadership and Directorship of Hilda Hardy Bashlor and Mozelle Clemmons, to better reflect our member base. Our purpose and logo depicts education, values, strength, trust, caring, financial stability, and carving a careful financial course – with an educational theme for Savannah, of course!

SSFCU was first housed in the vocational building on Bay St., then in a building in the school courtyard (now the BOE parking lot). When additional parking was needed, SSFCU moved back into the BOE building on the 3rd floor at 208 Bull St.  We proudly opened our first branch at the corner of Mall Blvd. and Hodgson Memorial Dr. in 2003. The website was developed in 2004, restructured and redesigned in 2017.  It includes Member Services Information, Account Services, Loan Services, Online Banking, Bill Payer, e-Statements, check images and other financial services.  In November 2015, we moved our main office out of 208 Bull Street, to 4673 E. Highway 80, Whitemarsh Island, Savannah, GA  31410.  We added a full-service ATM and drive-up tellers. 

Credit unions are not-for-profit, member-owned financial institutions promoting thrift and the wise use of credit. We are democratically controlled by the membership, who elects the Board of Directors. A Supervisory Committee is appointed by the Board of Directors. Both are composed of volunteers, serving without salary.

“Profits” belong to the membership and deposits are insured by the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund (NCUSIF). This fund is an arm of our regulator, the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), an independent agency of the United States government.  Our story of Security - Integrity - Services exists -  it's in the loans we give families for home improvements; in the smiles, we see as we help members out of debt; in the visual sight of members growth; and in the positive relationships we build with our members and their families.  SSFCU, moving forward, helping people, WITH PURPOSE...it's what we do!

Board of Directors

The Credit Union's Board of Directors is charged with overseeing the operations of the Credit Union and setting goals that they would like to see Management and Staff accomplish. The Board is comprised of seven volunteers that are elected by the members of the Credit Union, at the annual meeting. The Board also has the responsibility of appointing the Supervisory Committee. Our Board consists of:

Dr. Patricia HarrisBoard Chair

Dr. Bettina TateBoard Vice Chair

Willis Blake - Board Secretary/Treasurer

Dr. Shirley Eason - Board Member

James Green - Board Member

Ulysses O Bryant - Board Member

Tony Wright - Board Member

Supervisory Committee

The Supervisory Committee is the "watchdog" of the Credit Union. It is responsible for making sure that member' funds and interests are protected, and that the Credit Union's internal control procedures are adequate. The Committee is appointed by the Board of Directors from among the members of the Credit Union. It conducts an annual audit and has a continuing responsibility to ensure that the Credit Union's financial records and operations are in order.

Current Members:

Larry Jackson

Tiffany Lovezzola

Bethany Burnett

Nalanta Dawsey

Tiffany Lovezzola

Staff Directory

Derrick Rumph
Phone: 912-236-0919 ext. 210
Fax:  912-231-1422
Vanessa W. Frazier
Executive Vice President
Phone: 912-236-0919 ext. 212
Fax:  912-231-1422

Tammy Strojny
Phone: 912-236-0919 ext. 214
Fax:  912-231-1422

Anita W. McKenzie
Member Service Representative
Phone: 912-355-9099 ext. 100
Fax:  912-355-9360

Linnette O. Phillips
Member Service Representative
Phone: 912-355-9099 ext. 103
Fax:  912-355-9360

Patricee Nobles
Loan Consultant/Processor
Phone: 912-355-9099 ext. 202
Fax:  912-355-9360
Lindsay Weaver
Teller/Member Service Representative
Phone: 912-355-9099 ext. 102
Fax:  912-355-9099